What happened here? Oh, nothing.

Well that didn’t really turn out the way I was planning it to develope. Boy did I have big plans for this site. But I kinda got stuck and pushed it all back. For a year? Yeah, I know, for almost a year. I’m only human, and lazy, and forgetful, but mostly just lazy. So what’s been going on in the cardboard hobby since the last time I wrote on here, lets see. Panini has Basketball and Football in their firm grasp. Upper Deck is holding on for dear life to still have the Hockey portion of the hobby. Topps just won’t let go of Baseball. And Leaf just kinda waits in the background for the perfect opportunity to screw all the big dogs out of some top names in those sports.

Now I won’t go into any detail at this moment regarding the whole “exclusive” part but I must say that it’s both good and really harmful for the hobby. Competition is good, in a reasonable amount. And I find it kinda funny that, atleast according to myself, the best Baseball product of the year, this far, was made by Panini, a non MLB licensed company. Okey, let me explain myself a little bit there. 2016 Donruss Optic Baseball, that Panini has created, may not be high end, it may not have the greatest checklist of all time. But it is an affordable product that gives you plenty of enjoyment out of a box, even if you don’t hit any really good autos or parallels. As a group break product it is fantastic. The Hot Box system that they use for each case is a superb idea. The design and holo foil technology is as good as it gets without the rights to MLB names or logos. One can only hope that they don’t greed out over it in 2017.

So what’s up in my own collecting? As usual I stick with my overextended personal collection which boast about 15 different players in different sports along with all my favorite teams and a handful of sets. It’s actually almost two handfuls, but who’s counting, right? And with a tight budget it isn’t very easy to build a collection of a player, let alone 20-30 different players/teams/sets. So it’s been kinda silent from my end. There’s been a couple of minor group breaks here and there aswell as a couple of pickups. But nothing really crazy madtastic. That will turn around. Some day.

Leave a Reply

